Diocese of Mpumalanga

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

 The Diocese of Mpumalanga


Diocesan Boundaries


The Diocese of Mpumalanga stretches from beyond Witbank in the south-west to Komatipoort and the Mozambique border in the east.  

Bushbuckridge lies to the north while Barberton and Schoemansdal lie to the south-east.   Mozambique forms the eastern border and Swaziland the south-east.   Nelspruit is the provincial capital of Mpumalanga and lies within the Diocese.  

Most of the diocese is rural and distances are great.  Poverty and unemployment is widespread while education and health are in great need of expertise, training and support.  

The beautiful countryside stretches from the Highveld to the Lowveld, from the striking mountains and waterfalls of the escarpment to the warmer bushveld with its abundance of wildlife game parks.   

Summer rains, mild dry winters and undulating countryside make the area of the diocese a most attractive place in which to live.